Sugar Rush In Owensboro.

Image

I’ve returned from a lovely weekend adventure in the beautiful city of Owensboro, KY. I have to say that my stay was pretty fantastic, and the people, the food and the conversation were all excellent. I may currently be suffering from a slight food coma due to the ridiculous amounts of food and baked goods I just consumed in two days.

But I have to say that it was totally worth it!Image

Why Have I Never Experienced Bar-B-Q Mutton In My Life, Seriously I Will Never Be Able to Enjoy BBQ Unless It’s From Owensboro, KY.

So for starters lets talk about the B-B-Q in Owensboro. It’s amazing. Delicious. Fantastic. Phenomenal. I think I’ve run out of ways to describe it actually. I decided to try a local favorite Old Hickory Bar-B-Q and I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and tenderness of the meal. Also, our server was friendly but she didn’t overdue it. The environment was welcoming and quaint, but seriously the food tasted a lot like I had died and gone to heaven.

And the sweet tea, don’t even get me started on it.

So if you’re ever in the area this place definitely should be a top priority to try out. The mutton was nice and tender and flavorful but the pork was a little on the dry side. I wouldn’t recommend going anywhere else though and the prices were very reasonable. I ended up getting a 2 piece chicken strip meal, fries and a three meat sampler for around $20.

Got A Sweet Tooth, No Worries,

Owensboro Has You Covered With Their Local Fare.ImageImageA baker stopped making donuts after he got tired of the hole thing. Oh, baking puns get me every time.

The sweets are never-ending, and I’m perfectly okay with that realization. In fact, I may have accepted it.

 I turned around and my boyfriend managed to have another donut shoved into his mouth. We had purchased a dozen donuts from this quaint little bakery called Rolling Pin Pastry Shop wheree a few local teens were serving a small crowd of people. The workers were all friendly and polite. They even gave us two extra bags of donuts because we had never been to the shop before.

Talk about Southern hospitality. You give me a donut, and I’ll be your friend for life. Just saying. But you give me two bags for free, and I’m sold. Especially two bags of mouth-watering, creamy donuts like these.

Dreamy, Cream Cupcakes Are Hard to Resist.

ImageNext on our list was a place called the Cup Cakery, which ended up being closer to the river front. It was a small shop but the staff of one local girl was helpful and friendly. There were quite a few options to choose from including: Wedding Cake, Strawberries and Cream and Hot Chocolate. I ended up with the Strawberries and Cream choice and it was so good. The icing tasted like whipped strawberries and the cupcake had that perfect amount of moistness. The prices are a little bit expensive. I paid about $3.50 for a cupcake, but they’re also a little bit bigger then average so it works. I definitely enjoyed every last bite of that delicious treat, and I’m so happy I listened to the cashier’s advice and went with the Strawberries and Cream instead of Wedding Cake.

Leave a Reply

