Hello, I Love You–Won’t You Tell Me Your Name?

Rarely, if ever do I get to write something about you, my love–and so, it would happen that on Valentine’s Day I would choose to write a post about us.

Most of our relationship is defined by humorous antics, kitchen disasters and making fun of each other, but on those rare occasions where we aren’t arguing about who should do the dishes tonight I always feel a sense of pride to be the girl that you choose to have this adventure with.

We’ve been together since we were in high school, and we’ve watched as our friends and families have experienced their fair share of loss, love and pain–we have celebrated our friends and family as they got married and had children, and we’ve hugged some of those same friends and family that have experienced heartbreak and loss. People often question how we’ve done it and made it as a couple all of these years, and as you know it hasn’t been easy–and, it definitely hasn’t been a walk in the park. We, ourselves have dealt with our own fair share of questioning if we were right for each other or if people could truly be in a “happy” relationship forever. And from you my love I have learned the following things.

  • Relationships take a lot of patience and hard work. There are days where I just want the world to leave me alone, and I suffer in my depressing thoughts alone. I’m glad you understand that it’s not going to be like this all the time and that sometimes I just need a tub of ice cream and someone to talk to.
  • We are going to have different stages in our relationship–everything is not always going to be exciting and new. Life, after all is not always happy and our relationship is the same. We will fight and sometimes we’ll cry and then we’ll move on and forget it ever happened, but at the end of the day, we’ll still be willing to find compromise and work out our differences together.
  • We can be a couple, while still being individuals. This–this is what took me such a long time to learn. When I was younger I thought that as a couple we had to do everything together and be in every moment and experience every part of our life the same way. The truth is we are still individuals experiencing life and we should have our own friends, hobbies and interests that fulfill us and make us happy at the end of the day.

I love you because you are an amazing and caring human, and I’m glad that we were so lucky to find each other when we were 15. It’s rare that people get to say that, and it makes what we have so much more special to me. So thank you for letting me be your best friend, awful travel companion (Maybe, one day I’ll be able to read a map and not tell you to just stop at the nearest pub) and soulmate. Happy Valentine’s Day to my exceptionally amazing Valentine.

Leave a Reply

